Government of Gouvernement des Northwest Territories Territoires du Nord-Ouest

June 06, 2022

The Honourable Dan Vandal Minister of Northern Affairs 25 EDDY STREET, 7th FLOOR GATINEAU QC K1A 0H4 Chairperson Charles McNeely Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated PO BOX 55 DELINE NT XOE 0G0

Dear Minister Vandal and Chairperson McNeely:

Government of the Northwest Territories Ministerial Approval of the 5-year Review <u>Amendment to the Sahtu Land Use Plan and addendum to the 5-year Review Amendment</u>

I am writing in response to the Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated (SSI)'s notifications of approval of the 5-year review amendment to the Sahtu Land Use Plan and the addendum to the 5-year review amendment.

As set out in section 43 of the *Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act*, and as the Responsible Territorial Minister for the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT), I am notifying you of my approval of the 5-year review amendment to the Sahtu Land Use Plan submitted by the Sahtu Land Use Planning Board to the approving parties on May 1, 2020, and the addendum to the 5-year review amendment submitted by the Sahtu Land Use Planning Board to the approving parties on May 1, 2020, and the approving parties on May 31, 2021.

The GNWT remains committed to the ongoing renewal of regional land use plans through reviews and amendments, and we look forward to continuing to work with the Sahtu Land Use Planning Board, SSI, and the Government of Canada. If you have any questions please contact Gina Ridgely, Director, Land Use and Sustainability by email at <u>Gina Ridgely@gov.nt.ca</u>.

Sincerely,

Shane Thompson Minister Lands

c. Distribution List

Distribution List

Honourable Caroline Cochrane Premier

Michael McLeod, M.P. Member for the Northwest Territories

Honourable Marc Miller Minister Crown-Indigenous Relations

Shaleen Woodward Principal Secretary

Jeff Valois Chief of Staff to Minister of Northern Affairs

Martin Goldney Secretary to Cabinet/Deputy Minister Executive and Indigenous Affairs

Jamie Koe Deputy Minister Lands

Shawn McCann, Deputy Secretary, Indigenous and Intergovernmental Affairs Executive and Indigenous Affairs

Heather Bourassa Chair Sahtu Land Use Planning Board

Orlena Modeste Executive Director Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated

Justin Stoyko Executive Director Sahtu Land Use Planning Board