

Sahtu Land Use Planning Board Box 235, Fort Good Hope, NT, X0E 0H0 Phone: (867) 598-2055 Fax: (867) 598-2545 Email: info@sahtulanduseplan.org; Website: www.sahtulanduseplan.org

Notice of Referral for a Conformity Determination

Howard's Pass Access Road Upgrade

- To: Doug Reeve, Manager, Permitting and Regulatory Affairs, Selwyn Chihong Mining LTD. (Proponent)
 Willard Hagen, Executive Director, MVWLB
 Ethel Blondin-Andrew, Chair, The Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated
 Mark Warren, Deputy Minister, GNWT-Lands
 Mohan Denetto, Regional Director General, AANDC
 Sahtu Organizations (list provided)
- CC: Rebecca Chouinard, Regulatory and Technical Director, MVLWB David Little, Executive Director, The Sahtu Secretariat Terry Hall, Director, Land Use and Sustainability GNWT-Lands Catherine Conrad, Environment and Renewable Resource Directorate, AANDC Other persons or organizations, at the Board's discretion (list provided)

Request for Conformity Determination

In a letter dated December 3, 2015, the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board (MVLWB) referred applications from Selwyn Chihong Mining Ltd. ("the Proponent") for a Land Use Permit and a Water Licence for the Howard's Pass Access Road Upgrade Project (the "Applications") for a conformity determination pursuant to Section 47(1)(a) of the Mackenzie Valley Resources Management Act and the Sahtu Land Use Plan.

Project Summary

The proposed Howard's Pass Access Road Upgrade Project ("the Project") is for a two-lane year-round access road for commercial use to support mine operations including the bulk hauling of concentrates and mine resupply during operations. Work to upgrade the road will include:

- 1) clearing of vegetation within the road right-of-way to an average width of 25 m to accommodate the upgraded road;
- 2) grubbing adjacent to the roadway to accommodate road widening;
- 3) widening of the road surface to 8.5 m, plus widening at curves, pullouts and bridge approaches where required;
- 4) road subgrade improvements in localized soft areas, including placement of geogrid, geotextile and granular fill;
- 5) upgrading of drainage systems, including widening of existing ditches and installation/extension of culverts;
- 6) localized changes to the road alignment and profile for road safety, i.e., to improve driver sight lines and reduce steep grades, and to allow for improved travel speeds, including a potential bypass at the south end of the road;
- 7) application of gravel surfacing to the road as required; and
- 8) development and use of roadside borrow areas.



The Applications can be found on the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board public registry, through the following links:

Land Use Permit Application (MV2015F0012) http://www.mvlwb.ca/Boards/MV/SitePages/search.aspx?app=MV2015F0012

Water Licence Application (MV2015L8-0005) http://www.mvlwb.ca/Boards/MV/SitePages/search.aspx?app=MV2015L8-0005

Information Requests made to the Proponent

By this notice, the Sahtu Land Use Planning Board ("the Board") requests that the Proponent provide a detailed rationale for why the Project should be considered a legacy land use per SLUP 2.5.D. The Board requests that the Proponent provide this information by written submission to the Chair of the Board no later than 5:00 PM on December 22, 2015.

The Board may make additional information requests on the Applications to the Proponent during the conformity determination process. The Proponent will have ten (10) business days to respond from the date the information request(s) are sent, subject to Rule 4.5(1).

Comments from the Public

Persons who may be affected by the activities to be carried out pursuant to the Applications and members of the public may submit comments on the project by email (<u>info@sahtulanduseplan.org</u>), fax, or post using the contact information above. All comments should be addressed to the Chair of the Board and received by 5:00 PM December 22, 2015.

Sahtu Land Use Plan and Conformity Determination Procedure

The Sahtu Land Use Plan, Sahtu Land Use Plan Implementation Guide, and Rules of Procedure are available to download at <u>www.sahtulanduseplan.org</u>, or can be viewed in hard copy at the SLUPB office in Fort Good Hope. Any questions in regard to the Board procedures should be directed to the Executive Director at <u>exec_director@sahtulanduseplan.org</u> or 867-598-2055.

Issued

This notice was issued at Fort Good Hope, NWT on December 8, 2015 by the Sahtu Land Use Planning Board.



Sahtu Organizations Distribution List

Name/Position	Organization
Clarence Campbell - President	Tulita Land Corporation
Lorraine Doctor - ED	Tulita Land Corporation
Todd McCauley - President	Tulita District Land Corporation
Louise Reindeer - ED	Tulita District Land Corporation
David Menacho - President	Tulita RRC
Beatrice Salopree - Office Manager	Tulita RRC
Eddy McPherson Junior - President	Fort Norman Metis Land Corporation
Vacant - ED	Fort Norman Metis Land Corporation
Merriam Norwegian - Office Manager	Fort Norman Metis Land Corporation
Frank Andrew - Chief	Tulita Dene Band
Sally Ann Horassi - Band Manager	Tulita Dene Band
Sherry Hodgson - President	Norman Wells Land Corporation
Sean Rorison - ED	Norman Wells Land Corporation
Rhea McDonald - President	Norman Wells RRC
Ruby McDonald - Office Manager	Norman Wells RRC
Edwin Erutse - President	Yamoga Land Corporation
Jacinta Grandjambe	Yamoga Land Corporation
Edwin Erutse - President	K'asho Got'ine District Land Corporation
Winston McNeely - President	FGH Metis Nation Local # 54 Land Corporation
Rodger Boniface - President	FGH RRC
Sarena Kaskamin - Office Manager	FGH RRC
Wilfred McNeely, Jr – Chief	Fort Good Hope Band
Band Manager	Fort Good Hope Band
Gina Dolphus - President	Deline Land Corporation
Christine Firth - ED	Deline Land Corporation
Michael Neyelle - President	Deline RRC
Edward Reeves - Office Manager	Deline RRC
Leonard Kenny - Chief	Deline First Nation
Kirk Dolphus – Band Manager	Deline First Nation
Robert Kochon - Chief	Behdzi Ahda First Nation
	Ayoni Keh Land Corporation
David Codzi - President	Ayoni Keh Land Corporation
Joseph Kochon - Band Manager	Behdzi Ahda First Nation
	Ayoni Keh Land Corporation



Other persons or organizations, at the Board's discretion

Name/Position	Organization
Janet MacCauley - Mayor	Hamlet of Tulita
Robert Moretti - SAO	Hamlet of Tulita
Nathan Watson - Mayor	Town of Norman Wells
Catherine Mallon - Town Manager	Town of Norman Wells
Wilfred McNeely, Jr - Chief	Charter Community of K'asho Got'ine – FGH
SAO	Charter Community of K'asho Got'ine – FGH
Leonard Kenny - Chief	Charter Community of Deline
Kirk Dolphus - SAO	Charter Community of Deline
Deborah Simmons - ED	Sahtu Renewable Resource Board
Paul Dixon - ED	Sahtu Land and Water Board